Health Care OR Disease Profiteering!?

Heath Care OR Disease Profiteering

Any intelligent fool can make things bigger,

more complex, and more violent.

It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move

in the opposite direction. 

~Albert Einstein

The “Vegan” physicians in the video below are precisely the geniuses Dr. Einstein is speaking of. The vast majority of our physicians appear to have become “intelligent fools” who focus on “complexities” of disease instead of the simplicities of healing; of which the body will do readily with proper nutrition for us human herbivores: “Natural forces within us are the true healers of disease.” ~Hippocrates. It appears with the current state of our medical schools  — corporate sponsored training programs — that wellness is simply not profitable enough in our current disease profiteering society!

The following video: Dr. John McDougall authored a bill (SB 380) requiring California doctors to receive initial and continual nutrition education – diet and how it relates to health... what a concept! The bill passed 7 to 1 in the California State Senate after 3 revisions! Opening statements in support of the bill by Dr. McDougall and Dr. Don Forrester:

Learn more about these true healers/physicians/educators:

Dr. John McDougall and Dr. Don Forrester

____________________________________________

The following Hippocratic Oath from Wikipedia is the most widely used modern version of the traditional oath, and was penned in 1964 by Dr. Louis Lasagna.

I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgment, this covenant:

I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.

I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures [that] are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism.

I will remember that there is art to medicine as well as science, and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon’s knife or the chemist’s drug.

I will not be ashamed to say “I know not,” nor will I fail to call in my colleagues when the skills of another are needed for a patient’s recovery.

I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given to me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.

I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person’s family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick.

I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.

I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm.

If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.

________________________________________

“Whenever a doctor cannot do good, he must be kept from doing harm.” ~Hippocrates

Keeping other doctors from doing harm is exactly what Dr. McDougall and Dr. Forrester are doing, and ideally many more will take the healing wisdom of their oath to heart instead of profiteering from heart-disease! As Dr. Forrester states: In 2006 1.5 million angioplasty surgeries at $50,000.00 per operation and 500,000 bypass surgeries at $100,000.00 per; that comes to 100 billion dollars just for these procedures, and 90% could have been treated with proper nutrition. Clearly this IS disease profiteering!

Until our physicians stop doing harm, stop being ashamed of saying I don’t know, and become the preventative healers/physicians/educators they were meant to be, we may want to partake in some education of our own: we humans are herbivores!

MEAT: “When we kill the animals to eat them, they end up killing us because their flesh, which contains cholesterol and saturated fat, was never intended for human beings.” ~William C. Roberts, M.D., editor of The American Journal of Cardiology

DAIRY: “It’s not just milk. When you take at look at cheese, yogurt, all the dairy products, they’re actually a bigger contributor to saturated fat – that’s the bad fat – bigger than meat!” ~Dr. Neal Barnard, PCRM

DISEASE: “What can save America is a plant-based diet, which will help individuals recover their good health, and which in turn will set our health care system right (as well as our economy). However, for this plant-based diet to take hold, the public must be endowed with nutritional literacy…” ~Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.

PLANT BASED DIET: “…this is not a “diet” – it’s a way of eating that you should be following all the time.” -Dr. Oz, from his show featuring the documentary “Forks Over Knives”. The movie is based on the research “The China Study” by Dr. T. Colin Campbell.

“Every human being is the author of his own health or disease.” ~Buddha

Vegan Zeitgeist always assumes that healthy, progressive, and informed human animals are acutely aware that to enslave, exploit, and/or murder ANY sentient being, for any reason, is the most grievous act against all LIFE!

About Vegan Zeitgeist

Learning and sharing all things Vegan 4 LIFE! My passion (practice) is Veganism ~ Ahimsa (non-violence) so ALL may Live! (: Ⓥ :) We Are Human Animals Evolving ~ Therefore We Are Vegan! Life to ALL All-Ways! Lain

Posted on February 27, 2012, in VZ Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Comment

